The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

And this just feels like spinning plates...
-
18.10.01 - 14:21

I was still feeling depressed today, so I managed to weasel into VK's heart enough to make her want to skip psychology, and the two of us went to a nice little sandwich deli-type restaraunt. It was a wonderful place, one of those family affairs, all full of plants and such. When we came in, we were the only ones there, save for an elderly man with the day's special reading the paper at the counter. I want to go there again, it was so nice. She took me home after that, and I skipped the rest of the day. I also called in sick to work, complaining of a headache, as VK suggested. In an odd self-fulfilling prophecy situation, I got a bad headache and spent the last two hours sleeping.

I am cheering up, more or less. It's a sort of mood swing type situation, so I think it may just be hormonal. All the same, I dread going to journalism tomorrow. It was the falling out with the advisor that made me get in this mood--I didn't want to run something, and he wants me to.

I can't explain why it upsets me so, really. I think it's mainly the elimination of what authority I have there... eh. Or it's just my OVARIES! DIE!

I'm wondering if I should go into work later, anyway. I do need the rest, but the money would be nice, too, and they need me. The computers came back up recently, and since then I've been working overtime. I think they've caught up on discharge by now, though, so they don't need me too much. So sleep it is!

Don't you just love reading about someone's mediocre day? I thought so.

I just ordered a Digimon toy I can't find in town anymore. It's a wormmon toy--I'm upset that they don't make the 2.5" toy of him anymore, but at least they have this digiaction one. They also don't make the 1" figure packet with him in it! Grr! He's my favorite, too.

It's a long story why--I started out with Terriermon as my favorite--the Terriermon from the Japanese movie, that is; the one with the evil twin. Not that he's so different from the 03 one, but I've never really watched 03, and I like giving unnesecary exposition. I mean, the little thing combines two of the best things in the universe: cute, and puppy. Actually, that's a redundancy: all puppies are cute. But Terriermon is like cute^5. I started to fall in love with Wormmon, however, as I watched more and more of 02. And... he's really not all that cute. Yea, he's cute, especially as Minomon, but... he's not Terriermon's "I have diabetes now" cute. What made me fall in love with Wormmon was his persona. And the way it reminded me, the more I thought of it, of myself.

While life hardly kicks me in the ribs as much as it did him, when it does, he has this sort of acceptance of it, as do I. If I whined at everything that happened to me, I'd be in a mental ward. He sticks with those he loves, even if they're destroying EMOTIONAL VAMPIRES, like half of my friends are. When he cries, it's rare, really--sure, he cries more than most of the digimon, but they don't have his lot in life. I'm sure if Hawkmon was in his situation, he'd cry like a baby. And from what little 03 I have seen (read: 3 episodes) Growlmon cries so much and for such dumb reasons, he needs to be bitchslapped by Renamon. HARDCORE. And when Wormmon cries, it seems to be for the same reasons I do: just one stupid thing, added onto everything. Also, physically, he isn't all that, but he is cute in certain ways. That's sort of how I'd like I'd like to think I am: I have a good self image, but it's just in a generalistic "sure, I'm not gorgeous, but I'm pretty good" sense. Also, Wormmon isn't afraid to tell someone they're being a moron, and get kicked halfway across a room for it. This is the sort of preserverance I really admire--I really like to emmulate.

Sure, you babies in your posh suites by your fires with your champagne and Jane Austen novels can say Wormmon has no spine. But I think ultimately he pulls through, and that some of those digimon would have just given up on whipboy.

Oh, and in the horrid pun market: sure, he has no spine. But damn it, he has one hell of an exoskeleton.

Shoot me now. I deserve it.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron