The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Velvet Goldmine Goodness
-
11.11.01 - 11:49

For some reason, I imagine that Craig will not be watching movies with us unless he knows what they are--or at least is certain that it's a movie VK or I picked out--for a long time.

To be honest, it wasn't my fault. Or hers, for that matter. We told him to squint until they looked like girls.

But what it all stems down to is the fact that we didn't quite factor in Cyd's pervert factor.

"You have to rent Velvet Goldmine, you'll love it," she was always saying. So, on Friday, after I got my hair cut, we rented it, Kat, VK, and I. We ended up watching Thunderbirds Are Go instead on Friday, but on Saturday, we all got together to watch Velvet Goldmine.

Unfortunately for Craig, he was along for the ride. And, while Craig is by no means a homophobe (lord knows, he puts up with VK talking about dressing guys up in fishnets long enough) I got the distinct feeling that watching such things was not high on his priority list. We kept on trying to reassure him.

"Come on, there's only a 90% chance of sex in this scene."

"Oh, come on. They're all the way in the back of the shot. Just squint until they're women."

"Look on the bright side--at least you have the knowledge that all anime pr0n that comes over here is yuri! Right?"

He was barely comforted. So ladies, don't let men into the house when watching movies that your friend stressed "you will LOVE it" over. Well, unless they're really easy-going guys, I guess.

But man, why can't we still dress like that? The sheer studliness of the velvet suit worn by the lead in the beginning of the film was enough for me. Of course, that wasn't the best part of the film--oh, no. That honor goes to the Barbie doll scene. Heh.

I need to rewatch it. Unfortunately for me, VK stole it, in hopes the fine attire will inspire her to shove men into more ludicrous outfits. I'm in hopes that the scenes where the characters are a little less clothed will be equally inspirational--hah!

All the same, maybe she should draw Cyd a thank you gift.

And Craig a consolation prize.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron