The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Good Luck
-
04.12.02 - 18:39

Just so you know, I did write something earlier, but all that's on there to note is the flier for Friday's movie.

Some good news--Victoria called me and told me that the other girl who was there apparently really wanted to move in to the Womyn's Center and was friends with the Potential Roommate. So the Womyn's Center does not have an issue with filling that spot, after all (if one of the houses can't fill all their spots, they're put on "probation") and no one needs to worry about it.

Victoria was also pretty candid and told me that she knew one of my issues with the Human Furniture was that she doesn't respect my space (I do, after all, find her shizz under my bed sometimes) and that that particular issue would be twice as bad with the Potential Roommate. So it's for the best. Anyway, it's the roommate who was leaving who liked Bowie and the Ramones and Velvet Underground. The Potential liked the Who and Sleater-Kinney--both of which are, admittably, NOT techno remixes of The Chicken Dance song...

So that's resolved. And we're back to the nice state we were at before--that lazy what-be-will-be-ness I so enjoy. Either way, I've got a Chia pet now that I can start growing after break. I'm good here. Projects need to be done, papers need to be composed, finals are coming up--but ultimately, life seems pretty good.

And Blue, it's alright, about the ballet thing. I mean, to still be upset about it. Even if you couldn't be professional or anything, it's still like an old dream left unrealized. Sometimes I still kick myself for never sticking with guitar lessons. Now the electric sits in perpetual silence in my closet, broken and useless. Some girls wanted to be ballerinas, some wanted to be rock stars--but sometimes these things don't work out. The difference between us, I think, is that you actually plan and look at the future, where I'm so lazy and blind to it and live day-to-day--so you feel the pain of not-being more than I do. I don't know which is a better way to live. Maybe neither.

And about the silent hours? That sucks hardcore. Our dorm, luckily, seems to have none of such hoo-ha going on. I'd stick with the headphones, though--you can buy a lot more music with fifty dollars.

Speaking of money, I'll be in a bit more of it come next week. Reselling textbooks and all. Not that I have a great deal--the Japanese ones we're still using next semester, so I'll mostly be selling novels and anthologies assigned in lit--but it'll still be something. Between that and my plan to hock off a bunch of art books and whatnot over break, I'll have a bit of spending money to go with... Of course, I still have to buy presents for folks, but, so it goes... Then again, I actually forget I have a lot more money than I ever think I do. I mean, I don't have Denny's anymore to eat eleven dollars every week, and I don't buy as many CDs, and most entertainment here--from movies to concerts--is free, so it's a pretty good run. College has been good to me in ways it is rarely good to others--asides from the looming student loans (which everyone knows I don't have to worry about until I'm 30, of course) I'm saving money, and I'm better rested with all the naps, and I'm sticking to a psuedo-vegan diet (I eat eggs cooked in things and I eat fish, but I don't eat dairy or straight eggs) and I've lost weight. Not that the latter is particularily healthy on someone of my stature, but it is unusual...

Well, I'm off to pretend it won't snow over the fliers now.

Music: Radiohead - Punchdrunk Lovesick Singalong. Yes. I have the control. For now.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron