The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Todd Haynes and Sinus Infections
-
16.12.02 - 20:53

So there's this great weird part of the illness that seems to involve the right side of my mouth feeling like I've got a monster cavity, and I don't know what to do about it, considering even brushing makes me want to fall over and die.

Whatever, no one wants to listen to me go off on my illness--but it's not as if I've much else to go off about. After finals, though, there's something to be said about lounging about, nothing to do but read Requiem for a Dream while listening to Einsturzende Neubauten. Or laying bundled with tea and watching bizarre mixes of home dec and forensic science shows because lord knows, there's nothing else on. Or going to Denny's three times in 24 hours because lord knows, you have to see EVERYONE there... So it's been alright. Calming. A bit boring. But alright.

Today on NPR I managed to catch an interview with writer/director Todd Haynes (most notably of Velvet Goldmine, but also of Safe, et al). It was pretty interesting--he was talking about his new film, Far From Heaven, a homage to 50's cinema which is about a housewife who falls in love with an African-American gardener, and her husband, who is a repressed homosexual. I want to see the film enough--especially after the sound clip they aired on the program, which featured a drunken party scene--but listening to Haynes talk about his filming style was wonderful. I missed some of the interview (which was on Fresh Air) but what I heard was great--he focuses a lot on color in this one, and uses a lot of older movie techniques, like using a reel of film in the back window of a car when someone is driving somewhere. The costume designer is Sandy Powell again, so you know we're in for great period stuff. Best. Costume Designer. Ever. Even if she DID construct the infamous Worst Outfit Ever--and even duplicated it, in doll format.

Well, I'm off now. People seem oblidged to turn on TVs loudly, here.

Music--Nothing, alas and all...

Picture of the Day--Now what the hell is this? Could they find three outfits that would compute less?

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron