The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Ontological proofs...
-
24.03.03 - 23:40

Again. Sorry for being so neglecting. This is happening with absurd regularity, and so I guess (were I to have many readers) all concerned should be quite used to it by now, But, nevertheless, I feel a bit bad galavanting off so often and utterly forgetting I own this mofo. Not that it matters if I clutter the web or not, but I like pretending to be productive in some sense of the word.

I've been keeping busy, though--although as of late, I've been in darker moods (just a bit broody, nothing to worry about. Really not even showing it either and am hopping about, same chipper self, but I've been mulling things) what with both the state of the world and with trying to decide some sort of future. Usually don't think of it too much tohugh, what with classes, work, activist shizz, and friends. This semester's going by fast--nerve-wracking, when you don't know where you're going--and it'll soon enough be first week of may with finals. I think I've been doing well in all my classes, though. I wonder though. Sometimes it seems all I've got out of this semester is a few more kanji and about a thousand more ways to be in right proper academic-style Irish morose broods. It's actually quite amusing--I consider the ontological (or St. Anselm's) proof of God while waiting in lines or on long car rides. Kant supposedly disproved it, but it turned he did so on the wrong terms and so the proof's been getting a revival. Isn't much of a proof, though, and all it does prove is a sort of cold, hands-off sort of god. Still, it's something to consider between things.

This weekend was a bit full-up. Saw Frida on Friday, and enjoyed it. Saturday went to Arlington Heights for shopping with a class. Saturday evening saw two superb bands that came to campus, both Chicago-based. Bang Bang!, the opening act, is a young band but is already sounding great, and I picked up their 4-track demo CD. You can get the MP3s of the songs on their site, but you can't get any roses from frontman Jack Flash, as I did. The main act, though, Bobby Conn, was phenomenal. Glam rocker all the way, Bobby Conn's got a great voice. His stage presence (5'4" with plenty of mascara) was terrific, and he and his band were all dressed in skintight jumpsuits--which may or may not have been a good look, depending on your taste. It was a nice lineup, though, usual instruments being guitar, violin, two keyboards (but one player type situation) and drums, and it was a good sound. No CD there--they hadn't any--but I intend to order one sooner or later. Bobby was a nice fellow, as was his drummer, Colby Starck--my friends and I chatted it up with them, and Bobby shared a nice story of the time he attempted to use a Sharpie as eyeliner, only to scream, "MY GOD, WHAT HAVE I DONE!" midway through the show. It was a good time had by all, Saturday, and I hope both of the bands come back and be our campus' friends again soon.

But that's all for now...

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron