The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

disjointed ramble fiesta
-
20.04.04 - 20:26

Sometimes I wonder if I shouldn't be savoring these last few days here. I have a week and a half left. A week and a half, and come the 30th, I will be flying to Boston to see my brother's graduation. And maybe--most likely, even--I will not be coming back. It is a strange disorienting feeling. Earlier this semester, I began acknowledging that these people--many of whom I've only connected with in the most superficial of fashions--may be figures I will never see again. Indeed, I think this was always in the back of my mind. I knew I'd never move to the Midwest for my friends. And I knew they'd probably never move to the West. But now, coming down to these last few days, there is an odd disorientation. Looking out a car window Sunday I saw an old woman and her son pushing their car at the side of the road. I could feel the temporary nature of our relationship--the watcher/watched--like a pain. Sometimes you have those moments where you realize there are so many people in this world. Relationships seem so fleeting. Perhaps I'm just turning tail and running to the few I know are stable. Perhaps I just want some connection to a land I know. It's as if I want all or nothing--either a city I'm tied to or eternal traveling so I don't need to connect, so the fleeting nature of the other is somehow explained to my simple mind.

So. Savoring this, feeling this college as deeply as possible and trying to fit it into some little box in my head. That whole shtick. Should I bother? Tomorrow's Spring Day, there are no classes. I could go out. Have one more drunken blast. See everyone, try and comprehend an essence of this campus in one boozy haze.

Ultimately, though, what would be the use of it? I feel not alienated here in my room, coughing off the last of some ragged illness and drinking tea and watching pirated movies. Rather, I feel joyful for the summer to come, and resigned to not make leaving any tougher than it may be. For I do have friends here, and though it may be prudent to burn some final moments of them in my memory, I don't want a trial as I hop that bus to O'Hare.

Maybe it is the wussy route. But I think all I've wanted is some eternal array of beginnings.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron