The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

First Tattoo
-
2001-09-09 - 8:29 p.m.

--6/4-- After planning it for three years, I finally got my first tattoo today. Went in there (a local shop, Hoops, that was widely recommended by friends) for the first time on Friday last, to talk to the guy there who helped solidify the design I had in mind. I had a very general idea--that I wanted an anklet-type design, that it would be very swirling, and rather inspired by a design a friend once did on me with henna; full of loops and dots. He brought out a threadbare book from the back of designs, and I found the perfect one. I can't really explain it that well to you, other than that it's like a ivy-vine of spirals, all around my ankle, with smeared dots (like rice, rather) coming off of their sides. Then, when I got home, I decided I wanted something "in" it so to speak, and chose a flowerbud from a book I own of Tibetan motifs and symbols. All of today I was hyper and happy, looking forward to it. But about an hour before going in, I started feeling really quite nervous. My friend kept rolling her eyes at me for it. But she went with me, all the same. In the parlor, we had to wait quite a while. The artist was working on someone else (who, to help my nerves, suddenly asked "is that blood?") and, when he did get done, had to mock up the design and prepare for it (as it's an original design and all--something I am rather happy about because no one else has it. They may have similars, but not it) and then play paperwork with us! So most of the time spent there was really getting all that done, and waiting. The tattoo proper? It only lasted about ten or fifteen minutes. It seemed longer to me, of course. It hurt fairly badly--like being pinched, I guess, or like mosquito bites, but that was really only at first. After a while, the vibration--or maybe because the first part he did was burning a little--makes it numb, and it didn't hurt again until he got back to join it up with the previously-done part. Then it was the most painful, since that skin was sore. ^^; My friend held my hand the whole thing. I'm such a wuss. ^_^; All in all, though? I'm very happy. It's a beautiful design, and I keep looking back at it, like "hey! I have a tattoo!" It's silly, I know, but still. It was exciting. I gave the guy a 15 dollar tip. I don't know what the going tip is for tattoo artists, but if I did too much, screw it. I love the tattoo. It's worth 80 dollars (it cost 65 alone). I hope it wasn't too little though. I really don't know. Right now? It's a little annoying. A slight sunburn feel. But it's fine, and most certainly worth it. Have a nice night!

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron