The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

I love you, cupcake.
-
2001-09-26 - 3:18 p.m.

You've got to love the tenacity of writers. Kudos to The Onion for actually being able to pull an issue for the past events. Especially with sidebars like "Jerry Falwell: Is That Guy A Dick Or What?" Read this.

Somehow I think it surmises everything quite nicely.

C'mon, is this a weak excuse for my daily entry, or what? Ah well, I'm trying to uphold a standard here. And I've got Digimon to watch. So this is all you get, kiddies.

*--yay--for--you--I--write--more--*

Well, I decided not to make an entirely seperate journal entry, as that would be Just Plain Silly. Especially since I have to work in a few, and the entry would be ludicrously tiny. Much like me. Raar!

I watched Digimon. Still mildly unsettled by my attraction to the show, but I suppose it's fairly understandable--there's been a shortage of new stuff for rental in the anime store in town (and today he was saying he was going to close in January. I wonder if he knows how many people would hunt him down and kill him, considering it's the ONE anime place in town. And there's really not any others 'til Seattle. Hopefully he was just idling with the idea and wasn't serious) and so I just have to find a new outlet. Or something. Honestly, I could probably rewatch some of the old stuff, but when Digimon comes on faithfully (and conveniently) every day at 3.30... What's a girl to do, shitty dub or no?

It was a pretty stupid episode today, too. They're rerunning 01 on weekdays (03 is on at toogoddamnearly on Saturdays, so I'll not see that 'til it's rotated, or someone tapes it) and while it's cute and all, I don't know. They're in the black gear thing, and it doesn't seem all THAT evil. Yesterday's episode was kind of cool, being that there was a GIANT TEDDY BEAR THAT SHOT LASERY DEATH OUT ITS EYES WHILE ASKING FOR A HUG. Which is enough to say "rock," but when you add in Yamato saying something along the lines of "Oh my the fun levels are so high ha. ha. ha," as he's a zombie--which is something I'd say, honestly (which makes it all the more hilarious... you don't expect to hear stuff familiar like that on TV, so you laugh half in amusement, half in disbelief)--it's pressing the level of pants-wetation.

Today's episode summary:

  • We're hungry!
  • Look! A fridge!
  • Eggs!
  • Eat them.
  • No, you musn't eat them!
  • They are consumed.
  • Look! A mountain! Let's climb it!
  • No!
  • Yes!
  • No!
  • Stop fighting!
  • No!
  • Yes!
  • No!
  • Let's sleep.
  • I'll go up it myself because I'm feeling all self-rightous and am looking forward to spending my teenage years with acne, vaseline, and kleenex!
  • Oh no, I am attack!
  • I fall!
  • Random digivolvation!
  • The end.

    Now, I imagine it was painful enough reading that. Picture spending a half hour (with interjections of the same Honey Nut Cheerios commercial played twice per commercial break) watching it. And having to listen to the really, really, REALLY bad voices. Especially since they hired someone with an awkward English accent for Unimon. Not one of those sexy ones that chicks dig. Oh, no. It was that kind that makes you think that it's a fake accent, orchestrated so that you will dig the speaker, who is one of those guys who's about to slip you roofies if, god forbid, you don't dig it.

    Hmm. Little matter--after all, you can't go into Digimon expecting some magic great super black rose duelist style 4ct10N. You've got to face the facts--this is, here or in Japan, a show for folks 12 and younger.

    Still... it's good clean fun. I need no brain for it. They shall never say to me: Look! Watch Daisuke turn into a CAR!

    Bua, time for work. I love you, Senor Vasquez!!!

    where I've been - where I'm going

  • LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
    rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron