The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Booze, Boys, and Buddhist Raccoons
-
2001-09-29 - 1:13 p.m.

Randomness, for now--I'm working on layout for the paper, trying to ignore the youngins. There's a set of three boys who, because one is the little brother of my brother's girlfriend, fancy themselves the best journalists as well as my brother's best friends.

My brother, for the record, cares not for them. But he's in Boston, it's easy for him to retain sanity. They have a sick sexist attitude, as well--still in that odd mindset of a preteen, where anything involving nipples and/or testicles is the most hilarious thing ever.

I'm still wondering about one of their articles. It's slightly reminiscant of an article on the Onion, but not pure-up. I'm wary to call plagerism, the similarity is only in subject and delivery, not the "facts" therein.

Little matter, it's the least offensive they've done. I wonder if they think this way of acting is cool, and where they learned that behavior. They look up to my brother, yet he's actually known to care about the feelings of others and have talent.

And now they are listening to rap.

May I kill myself? With a spoon? And a gerbil?

Ragh. It's times like this where I really have to remember that guys like this have been deluded by some grand hazy stereotype of "masculinity," that so many guys have ignored this "lesson," ones they seem to think rock, like Ed.

Man, reading Ed's entry from that day was pretty admirable. You realize there's half a world of total assholes who would consider him "gay" for being appreciative of friends.

In other words, Azusa I feel for you. The world = full of jerks. My! Aren't I verbose! ><

On a happier note (the rap has been turned down to volumes where I can drown it out with the sound of clicking keys--and to think a moment ago we were listening to Dylan in here! ARRGH) the party was pretty rock. It'll be in another entry, though, the description of it. I forgot to write up two events from yesterday, pre-party events.

One: VK and I went to the local anime shop yesterday. Dan, when yelled at by VK for his supposed January closing, said he wasn't. I wish the guy would decide what the hell he's doing. ^^; But that's not the most amusing part. Oh, no. We were looking through some Newtypes and such, just loitering and looking at the new stuff coming out in Japan. It's a good hobby, to loiter and not buy anything, and Dan could care less. Then, in one of them, we found the oddest ad. There was a woman looking inquisitively at a bottle of water, a look that, rather than showing appreciation of enjoyment, showed a sort of divine glow. "This water," she seemed to be thinking, "holds the hopes and dreams of all humanity. And once it is opened, our world will be saved." We showed it to Dan, he laughed. It was crazy. For some reason, that got us on the topic of alcohol. I can't remember why, exactly--it's been an odd day since. I might have been talking about how I was going to be a writer. I do know one thing.

Dan randomly pulled a bottle of JB's out of behind the counter.

"Oh, so that's how you get through the day, eh?"

"It's bad stuff."

It was odd. Not every day do you see salespersons whipping out some JB.

Two: Aaron, close friend and possibly one of the hugest guys I've ever met (I've known him since kindergarden. He's one of those guys who you consider a brother, and also one of those huge guys who could rip the arms off of a man and yet couldn't imagine insulting someone) gave me the most accurate description of myself I've ever heard.

I'd been carrying Minomon about in my pocket yesterday--I'd brought him to Denny's to show VK that he'd stand on his own accord. I showed him to Aaron, who sits by me for chem, because he is mildly spooked by my Digimon appreciation. He laughed.

"Why... why did you buy that?"

"Well... look at it! Toys are so cool. I've missed that new-toy smell, and I mean, they're so brightly colored and nifty."

He laughed again. "Geez. I've finally thought of what you are. You're like, one part communist, one part Buddhist, one part little kid, and one part raccoon"

And it's unquestionably true. I want to hoard things, laughing and fighting for freedom. It's the best life, ever.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron