The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

QATSI FILLED ACTION
-
30.09.02 - 23:31

It's been a pretty good day for me. I got my Nick Cave shirt in the mail--it's a bit bigger than I anticipated, and the silkscreen is pretty thick, but a few washes will take care of that. I'm just happy to own it, even if it probably will confuse (and quite possibly disturb) those who've never heard of Mr. Cave, due to the fact that he's not exactly what most would call a pretty face. Not saying he's ugly... just... unconventional.

I also--yes, in the same day!--got my DVDs. Koyaanisqatsi, Powaqqatsi, and Clerks. Yea, which of these don't belong... Anyway, the already-released Qatsi movies (Naqoyqatsi is in theaters Oct. 25th, according to one website) finally came out for home purchase on the 17th of this month. As I had to write a check and all, I didn't get it 'til today, but damn if I didn't preorder them. I've been waiting for something like six years--I've never seen Powaqqatsi, and I've quite worn down the VHS my mother taped off of Seattle public TV many years ago. I really thought they may never come out. But now my grubby little paws are happy ones, so it's all a good story.

Not a lot of people enjoy these movies. So if you're reading this and think I'm talking about good movies--I mean, in the "normal" sense of the word good--I'm really talking about movies with no dialogue and music by Philip Glass.

And if you don't know who Philip Glass is, there's a joke that might help you--"How do you tell the difference between a warped Philip Glass record and a scratched Brian Eno one?" There is no answer.

And if you don't know who Brian Eno is (may the seventies have pity upon you--and, indeed, may now, as he does all soundtracks for movies that aren't quite "out-there" and "arty" enough for Glass, and aren't modernistic and technological for pure-up techno. He's on Dune, Trainspotting, Velvet Goldmine, and more...) let's just leave it at this. There is a term called "minimalist." And it's used in music, too. And they mean it. Notes can be repeated, dear. A lot.

And I just happen to be addicted to half of it. With my love of Mr. Glass, I was doomed to get into VNV Nation and Apoptygma Beserk and that whole European Techno shebang. Woe is I--more CDs have to be purchased.

But first, I should really balance my checkbook.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron