The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

and why is there backwards katakana in the matrix, anyway?
-
19.05.03 - 12:52

Sorry I don't update, again--I was off in Moscow, ID, visiting blue and remembering why, god, why I go to an expensive liberal arts school. Nothing against Blue, but sheesh. I've gone eight, nine months without seeing a single Abercrombie & Fitch shirt, and it utterly blows my mind to see so many Traditional Cheerleader Sorts in a college. Yea, call me elitist, what you may--I know I am. I guess one just gets used to being on some ultra-liberal tiny campus, where the dress code is to try to dress as no one else. I don't mean to paint my college as an idyllic paradise, either... Maybe it's just me; maybe just I don't do well with that sort of gig.

Finally saw The Ring (is there a "the" officially in the title? Ooo, what happens when Inept Journalists Go Lazy...) when up there. Apparently have only... 4 days to live or so. Still pretty cool, though. I could watch that actual tape a few more times. I'm a sucker for "college art house experimental film" type shizz, unfortunately--it's a bad weakness, as any moron can slap together a bunch of grainy shots of decomposing bread. Sometimes students just get it in them that they want to make the next Un Chien Andalou--but not everyone is Dali, and even that film has a hard time holding up as "artistic" in critic's eyes. (ha ha, eye joke. get it?)

More mindless talk of films! Last night I went to see The Matrix Reloaded. While it's good for sitting mindlessly (I didn't realize how long it was, actually, until after the movie, which I suppose is a good sign) it doesn't have a terribly large amount of artistic merit. Or, really, much else than me wanting to say "Morpheus, my friend... there are strange things afoot at the Circle K" and "I know... JU JI TSU" and "whaaat?" If anything can show you that the Matrix movies aren't meant to be too philosophical at all when you come down to it, it's the fact they cast goddamn Keanu as the lead. However, there were a great deal of visually rockin' scenes. Example: who doesn't love having a battle in a showcase room for weapons, just to show people fighting with a bunch of swords and pikes and shizz? And, of course, how much more sweetass can you get than twin albino dreadlocked killahs? I don't know what it was about them, but they were just... oddly attractive. And since I have dreads, I'm so obviously meant to be with them.

However, a lot of scenes were... well, I'd just kind of have to sit back and think, "Okay, this scene is for the actual fan base." How much overweight techie geek fanboy fanservice did we get? A little too freakin' much. I'm not sure how much breast I saw in the utterly pointless "apparently, in the future, everything's a rave" scene, but it was enough to make sure the fanboys were happy, I'm sure. And, of course, we have to deal with that scene. You know what I'm talking about. Only geeks of a certain caliber can appreciate freakin' BINARY PUSSY. And yet they kept that scene. Christ.

Well, blah blah. I'll try and talk about something important someday.

Like this. Just kill them, okay? And good job enrolling in that art class, man! At least it'll be somewhat useful to you. Unlike everything else your worthless loving parents force encourage you to take.

Music: Madness - "House of Fun"

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron