The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

I believe in a thing called work
-
08.09.04 - 15:08

So, uh. No internet yet, this is clear--but it should be coming soon, and here is the why--

I finally, after about two months and all but giving up and getting ready to join the armed forces, got a job. It's a pretty spiffy number, too--9:30 to 6, 9.00 an hour, dental, health... I'm afraid it all hasn't quite sunk in, and I'm still waiting for the staff to say "just kidding." When I moved to Seattle, I really just hoped, at the most, for two part-time jobs in inferior establishments. Dishrooms, office supplies, hotels. Perhaps, at the best, video rental jockey. But I guess when fate decides to smile at me, it just goes for the money shot.

I work at this wee store just down the way from our hovel, a retail place that sells herbs, homeopathic remedies, aromatherapy, incense, massage supplies, soap- and candle-making shizz... basically a bunch of things that smell neat and I don't really believe in, but can't get enough of working with. The staff is great, and, considering they took such a huge freakin' risk at hiring me as one of their few full-timers (I'm Captain No Retail Experience, thanks kitchens and libraries) I feel a bit indebted to them. But I'm sure I'll settle with it all soon enough.

So, yes. This has been your memo of my being-alive. I must apologize if my writing is choppy, before I go--though I have done a bit of something for the ever lovely VK in my absence, I nevertheless feel like my writing skills are degrading. Perhaps I'll have to work on that.

So, for now, wish me luck in the world of working stiffs.

Oh, and PS: Bumbershoot = Pixies, Aveo, Built to Spill, and HARVEY PEKAR = amazing thing.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron