The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

you can't leave some things behind
-
02.04.05 - 22:27

The Pope finally passed on, as I found out midway through the workday. I guess it didn't sink in too much, or didn't mean too much--I've been "ex-Catholic" for about a decade or so by now. But it's been interesting how, almost without fail, ex-Catholicism has been my religion, my defining point. It's as if I'm not really moved out, just on vacation elsewhere.

No, John Paul's death doesn't touch me in and of itself. Rather, it brings up the old questions of faith, of where my spirituality wants to go, of what I am making of myself. Now, away even from academics, I miss the comfort of being a religious studies major. I'm just here in a city working and learning what it is to compromise with others. There are hard lessons here, but I'm no closer to discovering some "life purpose," and I'm clearly further away than ever from any spirituality at all.

At least I'm looking at my own spirituality tonight, rather than just being oblivious to it. Because of John Paul's death, PBS re-aired Frontline's '98-or-'99 episode about him. And during it, an actress (the website refers to her as a caberet singer. I think the clip there is the same I'm speaking of, so you can see it yourself) who is also an ex-Catholic began speaking of how, while she's relatively happy being an atheist, she still finds herself occasionally called back, deep inside, to the religion she grew up with. She spoke of how, in particular, when entering empty churches on her own, or during Christmas, or when walking down abandoned hallways or streets she would hear--or, indeed, sing--one hymn from her childhood. And what was so damn eerie is that this same hymn--"O Come, O Come, Emmanuel"--is the same one I can't get out of my head around Christmas, the same one I sing in when lost and too nervous to ask directions, the same one that fills me with such a sense of depressed longing. Perhaps it is just the dumb fact that the song is in minor key that both she and I find it a song of longing, but it was strange to find that another finds it the ultimate song of waiting, and loss.
1. Oh, come, Oh, come, Emmanuel,
And ransom captive Israel
That mourns in lonely exile here
Until the Son of God appear.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

2. Oh, come, Thou Rod of Jesse, free
Thine own from Satan's tyranny;
From depths of hell Thy people save
And give them victory o'er the grave.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

3. Oh, come, Thou Dayspring from on high,
And cheer us by Thy drawing nigh;
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night
And death's dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

4. Oh, come, Thou Key of David, come
And open wide our heavenly home:
Make safe the way that leads on high
And close the path to misery.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.


where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron