The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Coffee, tea, or me?
-
02.03.02 - 09:27

Darjeeling tea and croissants. How utterly proper a breakfast this is--maybe I should ring for the housekeeper after I'm done, and she'll take away the polished silver tray while muttering about having to put me in a corset later. Then I'll walk three miles to see Mr. Darcy.

I'm actually awake surprisingly early today. I find it more and more difficult to sleep in large shifts. I tend to want to nap more often, really. Still, I'm looking forward to today. Getting some writing done, and I am to watch terrible movies with friends and such. Hooray.

Well, back to the tea, I guess. I'm not really much of a tea person. I mean, I'll drink it and all, but it's not coffee, my truest passion. Tea is good, but it's just not quite as bohemian as those little beans. I decided to try this stuff today, though, this darjeeling tea. I've never had it before, and it's quite good, actually. Not as good as chai tea--which I like quite a bit--but it's certainly better than that sickly-sweet stuff with ginseng in it. Anything with ginseng in it is at least mildly nasty. I'll drink it, but it's not that good. When I do drink tea, it's generally chai or earl grey, or whatever it is the China Cafe serves. And I never put sugar in it--an action which, quite frankly, bewilders me. Tea is so subtle that if you put anything in it, you mask it completely.

But maybe I'm just saying that because I'm almost taking my coffee black nowadays. Coffee is something that I can understand absurd amounts of sugar in--it's an acquired taste, and is about as subtle (depending on the blend) as a kick in the balls. Some things you mix in it can bring out some of the flavors, too. I started out my coffee career about 4 years ago, and I needed 3 packets of sugar a mug--at least at Denny's. Now I'm down to one or one half of a packet. Soon it will be zero. With my coffee at home (gourmet stuff) I generally don't need sugar at all, although sometimes I'll put in a spoonful out of habit, heh.

Well, that was an utterly pointless post. Back to DRINKING the tea now. It's finally cool enough to manage.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron