The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

First webcast and snow
-
21.11.02 - 11:54

Cold--the first snow of the year more like sleet, not sticking to the ground at all but to make slick puddles in which to skid. All the classes are in rooms with bust heaters, and I wear my coat, thick and bulky, while failing a Japanese test. It doesn't matter. One can always do corrections, and it's my first bad one, after all.

Noon. Time to go to lunch, soon. Time to wonder, now, why the roommate left the fan on. Our heat in the room is on something severe, but I want to savor that before I go back out. Converse, army jacket, baseball shirt, jeans--nothing against the cold November wind that rushes, unhindered, across this flat and foreign land. It's colder than anything. I am as unprepared as a Brazilian in Sweden.

At least it started out well. Wake up early--2 pm in Berlin is 7 am here. The first Einsturzende webcast I've been a member for, and it was memorable and fun--Blixa, all silliness, singing folk songs after they practice the new song for the album. He puts a hat on midway through, paces the room talking to the band. It's amazing to watch the creative process. They all smoke but Blixa and the webmaster. An infomercial for the supporter t-shirts: Alex was wearing one, and Blixa pulled him aside: "Alex, that is a TERRIFIC t-shirt! It is just AMAZING!" all in a German accent--"It comes in small, medium, large, extra large, and extra-extra large!" calls Alex. "And extra-extra-medium!" replies Blixa. "Alex, your shirt is extra-male!" Big fun. "Hallo, new supporters!" he says in between sessions. I feel welcomed--not only by the band, of course, but by the older supporters, by the webmaster. It's a big fun show. One of the other gals in there had gone to see Soft Cell the previous night. I was much amused. After that infomercial, I may have to fork over the 40-odd dollars to get that shirt, after all.

An essay, again, today--one due at 3. But lunch, first. It looks like I won't have a nap today--I'll just try and hope for the best with my nap-less presentation in English.

It's my fault for slacking off all night. And I can't stay up all night tonight, like usual--another webcast at 7. Timezones are demons.

Winter's coming. But at least Einsturzende is here for us.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron