The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Noisy Australian, indeed...
-
08.01.03 - 02:13

Just a fangirlish little blurb here. I've been reading To Major Tom: The Bowie Letters by Dave Thompson here this break, and the novel (told through letters from the main character, Gary Weightman, to his idol David Bowie) deals with a lot of the London music scene of the late 70's onward (although he may move, or something. Truth be told, I'm only midway through) so I kind of assumed I'd see the name eventually.

But I was still a fangirl when it came up:

(speaking of a date) ...so she was stuck coming with me to see The Birthday Party (noisy Australians--an acquired taste, if you're lucky) at the Moonlight Club...

Well, well, Mistah Cave... bringing the love into toolish lead character's lives, and not even knowing about it.

Really, though... a lot of these bands Thompson casually mentions in the novel... do they have any clue they've been casually mentioned in a novel? Not that it matters much--it's hardly about to be a best seller (considering it's a 2002 release and I found it on a back table in a local bookstore, practically pre-covered in dust when it came from the printer) and it'll probably only be picked up as a novelty by Bowie fans (me) or by people who want to have a quick learn on some of the music scene (me)... It actually is a swift way to learn about Bowie, and all. I might get to reading a real bio sometime (if I can find a good one) but until then this is alright. And needed, considering I'm only at all well educated on a smattering of Bay Area punk rock (thank you, middle school. That's all I learned in YOU) and a bit about Nick Cave (although not that much) and stuff on the local music scene, although not so much of even that, now.

Well, back puttering about. La la la...

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron