The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Back from ol' DC
-
20.01.03 - 09:39

I can't say much for 30 hrs in a car with no leg room (even, you know, for people with ONE INCH LEGS) and I can't say much for running around one of the most crime-ridden cities in the US looking for a good meal, but I can say a hell of a lot for being in a crowd of 30,000+ people, all hoping that they just might make a difference.

Yea, it was pretty intense. It's not like a protest for something like equal rights or abortion where the issue is ALWAYS an issue. It's so insanely "now." Yea, we're probably going to war within the week anyway. But the intensity of how much 'the people' do NOT want to go to war...

Anyway, some blurbs about it, before I run off to class, I suppose. I wish I could articulate the sheer 'wow' of the moment (damn that sounded existentialist) but one's limited by words... There were so many people. I can't stop going on about that one--that, and how freakin' DIVERSE they were. There were infants and there were elderly folks on wheelchairs. There were Muslims and Buddhists and Wiccans, Christians and Jews and atheists. There were guys in suits (kid you not) and the homeless of DC marched by them. And it was so peaceful. I saw some people be arrested, but none of that fun teargas shebang...

I heard a lot of speakers, as well. Guy from British parliment, telling us that most Brits don't support Tony Blair's decision to be the US's bitch in this little war. Guy from Michigan, giving us greetings from Michael Moore, who couldn't be there. Jesse Jackson himself. It was intense.

That's the word of the day--intense...

I got a few photos of my fellow protesters. A lot of good signs. Although I didn't get a shot of one moron...

I mean, who the hell brings a sign that says "What Would Frodo Do?"

Moron.

And VK, NEVER WATCH THE ROCKIN' THE CASBAH VIDEO. Never.

I'm off. Sorry for the rushed entry.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron