The Subtle Scent of Slack
The Usual:

-latest
-older
-contact
-get your own
-profile

Fairies and... well, fairies.
-
08.02.03 - 16:30

Looking for an image for the The Ice Storm flier, I managed to run across this page, and, while I can't understand why, it's one of the most nightmarish things I've seen in a bit. If there's one thing more terrifying than Anne Gedders, it's Anne Gedders stay-at-home mom knockoffs. Especially terrifying is the caption "Doesn't Nathan make a great angel?"

Is it just me, or would you be a little freakin' terrified if your grandma posted that number? I also enjoy the mentally-handicapped Sadie the fairy. May God strike me down now, I guess--but it's still absurdist.

Heck all going on here right now. It's been a shitcrazy semester so far, but today's a quiet sort--or at least, I managed to be awake between the hours of noon and four, when it is that way, as it will no doubt pick up later--so I managed to get all my homework for Lundi done and some for Mardi, so we're all cool with that jazz.

I found a used copy of the old limited edition of Murder Ballads, with the extra live disc, so I ordered it yesterday. I've been a little too goddamned fussy to not buy myself shizz. That "Road to God Knows Where" video (which I'm ever-tempted to call "Road to Nowhere," which, as we all know, is not a video about NC & tBS, but rather another reason to have adoration toward David Byrne) is in backorder, so I hope I get it someday... Nocturama should be here the 18th, which is still SO FAR AWAY. It's out on the 11th, though, for you kids who actually live in, you know. Cities.

Speaking of one of those--VK, I think it was more than time you dropped that. Not that you can get a job in that, anyway--the way the computer industry fluctuates, you'd be safer with a philosophy degree.

Today's random image? A spooky kiriban of Pete Burns, 80's pirate-drag queen and lead singer of Dead or Alive, creators of the timeless "Spin Me Round (Like A Record)" Which is the only video I've ever seen to feature a band trying to do a colorguard routine. Seriously. It's as bad as you think, too. Oh, and special update--they're still together. Which, if you compare to the status of the Smashing Pumpkins and Soundgarden and countless others, calls the fairness of the universe into question.

And also--this bit of info from the site is hardly surprising:

In Japan, one of their biggest markets, they once commanded a million dollars for three shows and forced Michael Jackson to reschedule his Japanese dates so as not to conflict with the equally popular DOA tour. One Japanese daily even trumpeted, FORGET MADONNA, WE'VE GOT PETE BURNS.

That's all for now, I think. Perhaps my life will find some interest in a bit.

where I've been - where I'm going

LK / Aurora / Kat / Azusa / blueneko / Shinkuu / irk
rikoshi / Alruhi / chibi / Arcy / Absalom / Metron